Class of 2017 Inducted

//Class of 2017 Inducted


The new Class of Fellows inducted in Toronto in May is 48 members strong!  Fellow John O’Keefe was awarded the Presidential Citation for his many contributions to the profession.  Mr. Claude Paul Boivin was made an  Honorary Fellow.

Caption for the Class Photo.

Class of 2017


Honorary Fellow Claude Paul Boivin

Since his appointment as Executive Director of the Canadian Dental Association in 2008, Claude Paul Boivin has taken every opportunity to promote the dental profession within and outside the oral health community.  His appointment as Honorary Colonel of 1 Dental Unit of the Royal Canadian Dental Corps placed him in a unique position to further strengthen the collaboration between the Corps and the dental profession.  Claude Paul has given the dental profession enhanced visibility in a number of national non-dental organizations in which he has held leadership positions, such as the Canadian Society of Association Executives, the Government Relations Institute of Canada and the Alumni of the International Development Research Centre.


Fellow John O’Keefe

Fellow John O’Keefe is the CDA Director of Knowledge Networks, where his responsibilities include overseeing the Oasis Discussions website, CDA Essentials magazine and  He is passionate about harnessing new communication technologies to facilitate a strong sense of community in the dental profession.

He is a member of the ICD Canadian Section’s Strategic Planning Committee, the Canadian Institute for Health Research’s Partnerships and Knowledge Translation Committee, and the AboutFace Board where he is Chair-Elect.  AboutFace is an advocacy group for persons with facial difference.  He is also Chair of the Board for the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention.  Dr. O’Keefe holds Honorary Fellowships granted by numerous dental bodies.